Arlington Sons

Vocalists: David Pittsinger,  Richard Pittsinger 
Pianist: Fred Lassen 
Cellist: Eric Bartlett

Arlington Sons | The Story 

In 2011 Broadway and Metropolitan Opera star David Pittsinger commissioned composer and librettist Scott Eyerly to create a unique musical score for father and son. 
Pittsinger envisioned a work that would showcase him and his son Richard (a talented soloist and graduate of New York’s esteemed Saint Thomas Choir School) and honor his late father, a U.S. Army Veteran who served as a distinguished Tomb Guard at Arlington National Cemetery. 

Lyrical and expressive, Arlington Sons illuminates a universal experience—the changing of the guard between generations—in a uniquely American context. The 12-minute duet, inspired by true and reverent moments in time for the Pittsingers, is believed to be the first-ever musical work written for a real life father and son.

The House of Seven Gables

Scott Eyerly . Composer 
David Gilbert . Conductor 

Manhattan School of Music 
Opera Orchestra 

"How refreshing: a shapely, sensuous new American opera with a well-written libretto." 

American Record Guide

Act 1:  
1. Opening and Scene  
2. Hepzibah: Tell me you know me  
3. Phoebe: Good day  
4. Hepzibah: Look in the mirror  
5. Phoebe: There once was a king  
6. Interlude and Scene  
7. Jaffrey: Well, well  
8. Jaffrey: I try to be like the rose  
9. Jaffrey: Why, Hepzibah  
10. Hepzibah: The mirror  
11. Chorus: O God wth grace  
12. Holgrave: Are you all right  
Act 2:  
1. Opening and Scene  
2. Hepzibah: Why should he  
3. Phoebe: Clifford, where are you?  
4. Clifford: How clear  
5. Quartet: Lovely is the breeze  
6. Clifford: Happy  
7. Holgrave: You are right  
8. Chorus: Who is the man  
9. Opening and Scene  
10. Jaffrey: Here it happened  
11. Clifford: We shall discuss  
12. Voices: Jaffrey? Jaffrey?  
13. Reverend: I now pronounce  
14. Let us take